SpeechStep

Speech Practice Apps Compared: AI Feedback, Articulation Practice and Accent Training

Speech practice tools fall into four groups: children’s articulation apps, AI articulation-feedback apps, adult pronunciation and accent apps, and human-supported practice. This page compares named products in each group on the same criteria, using what each company says on its own website or store listing.

Four groups of tool

Comparing a children’s word game with an accent course is comparing different jobs. Here are the four main groups, with named examples, then one table that holds every product, SpeechStep included, to the same criteria.

The four groups.
GroupBuilt mostly forNamed on this page
Children’s articulation appschildren, with a parent or SLPArticulation Station Hive, Speech Blubs
AI articulation-feedback appschildren, with a parent or SLPSpeech Therapy Magic, SpeechLP, Sara
Adult pronunciation and accent appsadults learning English or changing an accentELSA Speak, BoldVoice
Human-supported practicelearners who want a person to listenSpeechling (pronunciation coaches); online speech therapy with a licensed SLP (a category)

The four groups.

The comparison: the same criteria for every product

📝

About this comparison

Product names are trademarks of their owners. SpeechStep isn’t affiliated with these companies. Details are from each company’s own website or store listing on 30 October 2026 and may have changed; tell us at support@speechstep.com if anything here is out of date.

The same criteria for every product. Each competitor row is that company’s own published description, last checked 30 October 2026; sources are listed below. It compares what companies say, not how well their apps work. “Best for” is our one-line summary of who each product says it’s for, not a rating. “Not stated on its website” means the company doesn’t say, not that the product can’t.
ProductBest forAI listens to the recordingSound-level feedbackNames a likely substituted soundWhen it isn’t sureWho it’s forAdult practiceAccent or English varietySLP involvementRecordings and privacyFree plan or trial
SpeechStepAdults and teens who want to check and practise a lisp: a free lisp check, then 5 free words a day with AI feedback on the sounds it supportsYes, on the sounds its checks supportS, Z, SH: a swap check; R: a ✓/○ verdict for US English ages 9–12, a swap check elsewhere; TH, L: listen-and-compareYes, on supported sounds (for example “we heard TH”); CH and J on some wordsAsks you to try again when it isn’t confidentChildren with a parent; teens 13–17 through a parent’s account; adultsYes: adults 18+ practise their own speechOne of four English profiles (US, UK, Indian, Australian), suggested from your country or browser and changeableNone inside the product; complements an SLPNothing recorded before you have an account; optional uses off unless you turn them onFree daily words with an account; Premium by subscription (the annual plan has a free trial) or one-time purchase
Speech Therapy MagicChildren 3–12 practising at home, with a score for every sound and an SLP who can assign practiceYes: recordings are scored by its own engineYes: a breakdown of every sound in the wordYes: shows what a sound sounded like instead (its example: “heard /w/”)Its engine documentation says to ask the child to try again when the audio isn’t usable, and has an “uncertain” tierChildren, “primarily” ages 3–12Described as for anyone under 18; a parent or SLP holds the accountScores against General American English; its engine documentation also lists a British English optionSLPs can assign practice and see resultsBy default, no recording is stored7-day free trial without a card, then a subscription
SpeechLPChildren 2–9 who like game-style practice, with practice sent by their SLPYes: “real-time AI speech feedback”Yes: “sound-by-sound feedback”Not stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteChildren ages 2–9Not stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteSLPs send sounds and activities from a student portal“On-device audio analysis”; App Store label: no data collectedFree download with a free game; subscriptions
SaraParents practising word by word with their own child (ages 6–8)Yes: “uses AI to listen to your child”Marks each word correct or incorrect, with hints; tracks how every sound is coming alongNot stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteParents practising with their own child; App Store: “Made for Ages 6–8”Not stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteSLPs can connect with a family by invite codeApp Store privacy label: audio data · its website: “You control your child’s data and what is shared”Free download; Full Access subscription; two-week free trial
Articulation Station HiveAn SLP or parent who scores practice by hand, for learners of any ageRecords responses for playback; an adult scores them (AI scoring not stated on its website)Correct, approximate and incorrect responses, with graphs for each target soundNot stated on its websiteNot stated on its website“Learners of all ages”, children and adultsYes: for speech sound disorders “in children and adults”Not stated on its websiteCreated by speech-language pathologists; some features on a Pro planApp Store label: data not collected14-day free trial; Parent and Pro subscriptions
Speech BlubsYoung children 1–8 learning by watching and imitating other children on videoDescribes itself as “voice-controlled” (App Store)Not stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteChildren ages 1–8; children watch and imitate real kids on videoNot stated on its websiteLists American and British English as language options (App Store)Developed with speech-language pathologists; a separate Pro app for SLPsApp Store label: audio data isn’t among the data listedFree download; subscriptions; a free trial
ELSA SpeakAdults learning English pronunciation toward a target accentYes: “real-time, AI-powered feedback”Highlights individual sounds, syllables or words in colourShows the correct sound’s symbol; naming the sound you said is not stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteProfessionals, job seekers, students and self-learnersYes: built for professionals and self-learnersA target accent you choose: “American, British, Australian, and more”An AI tutor; SLPs not stated on its websiteApp Store label: audio data linked to youFree plan; Premium subscriptions; 7-day free trial
BoldVoicePeople training toward an American accentYes: “instant, AI-powered pronunciation feedback”Yes: “sound-level analysis of mistakes”Not stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteAnyone improving their English pronunciation; popular with professionals and students, it saysFor anyone improving their English pronunciationAmerican accent training; lists “accent reduction, accent modification”Video lessons from dialect coaches; SLPs not stated on its websiteStores voice samples and uses them to improve its models; voice features can be turned off; deletion on request7-day free trial; subscriptions
SpeechlingLanguage learners who want feedback from a human coachHuman coaches give feedback on your recordings; AI feedback not stated on its websiteCoaches correct pronunciation, intonation, rhythm and moreNot stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteLanguage learners at any level; ages not stated on its websiteNot stated on its websiteEnglish offered as US and UK versionsPronunciation coaches; SLPs not stated on its websiteRecordings deleted on request (privacy policy dated April 2022)“Forever Free” plan; paid unlimited plan
Online speech therapy (a category)An assessment, a diagnosis or a treatment plan from a licensed SLPA licensed clinician listensExpert and individualThe clinician identifies errorsThe clinician can assess furtherAny ageYesClinicians tell accent apart from disorderThe clinician is the servicePer the provider’s policyPer session, insurance or public services

The same criteria for every product. Each competitor row is that company’s own published description, last checked 30 October 2026; sources are listed below. It compares what companies say, not how well their apps work. “Best for” is our one-line summary of who each product says it’s for, not a rating. “Not stated on its website” means the company doesn’t say, not that the product can’t.4,2

Product by product, in each company’s own words

AI articulation-feedback apps

According to its website, Speech Therapy Magic scores each recording with its own engine, fine-tuned on children’s speech, and shows “a breakdown of every sound”: which one went wrong and what it sounded like instead. It says it is designed primarily for children aged 3 to 12, that SLPs can assign practice, and that by default no recording is stored. Its engine documentation says to ask the child to try again when the audio isn’t usable.

According to its website and App Store listing, SpeechLP is a set of games for children aged 2 to 9 that “listen to each word”, with “real-time AI speech feedback”, sound-by-sound progress tracking and “on-device audio analysis”. An SLP can send sounds and activities from a student portal.

According to its App Store listing, Sara “uses AI to listen to your child”, marks each word correct or incorrect with hints, and gives a report after each session. It is made for parents practising with their own child, and SLPs can connect with a family by invite code.

Children’s articulation apps

According to its website, Articulation Station Hive, created by speech-language pathologists, is designed to support learners of all ages, children and adults. Responses are recorded for playback and scored by the adult running the session, with graphs for each target sound.

According to its website and App Store listing, Speech Blubs is a “voice-controlled” app for children aged 1 to 8 that uses video modelling: children watch and imitate real kids saying words. It says it was developed with speech-language pathologists and lets parents track each child’s progress separately.

Adult pronunciation and accent apps

According to its website and App Store listing, ELSA Speak gives “real-time, AI-powered feedback”, highlights sounds, syllables or words in colour, and offers a choice of target accent: “American, British, Australian, and more”. It describes itself as a personal AI-powered English tutor for professionals and learners.

According to its website and App Store listing, BoldVoice is an American accent training app with “sound-level analysis of mistakes” and video lessons from dialect coaches, for anyone who wants to improve their English pronunciation. Its privacy policy says it stores voice samples to give feedback and improve its models, and that voice features can be turned off.

Human-supported practice

According to its website, Speechling’s feedback comes from certified pronunciation coaches, who correct pronunciation, intonation and rhythm, and it offers English in US and UK versions, with a free plan and a paid unlimited plan.

Online speech therapy is different in kind: a licensed speech-language pathologist assesses you, can diagnose a speech sound disorder and plans treatment. ASHA treats telepractice as the same professional service delivered at a distance.4,3

Where SpeechStep fits

SpeechStep is practice with AI feedback, for children, teens and adults. It listens on the sounds its checks support and says what it heard; on other sounds you listen back and compare. When it isn’t confident, it asks you to try again. It listens with one of four English profiles, suggested from where you are and changeable on the practice screen. It complements a speech-language pathologist rather than replacing one.

Practise your own speech, one sound at a time

Free with an account: your first practice day is a full session of 14 words, then 5 words a day, with AI feedback on the sounds it supports. SpeechStep is practice, not therapy, and it doesn’t diagnose.

Need a licensed professional? Where to find a speech-language pathologist

How to test any app before you pay

  1. 1Say a word correctly. Does it agree?
  2. 2Say the same word with an obvious swap (for example “thun” for “sun”). Does it notice?
  3. 3Mumble or cover the microphone. Does it say it isn’t sure, or does it give a confident answer anyway?
  4. 4Say a word in your own accent. Is your accent treated as an error?
  5. 5Look for what happens to your recordings, and whether optional uses are off by default.

Then use it for a week. Practice that sticks is short and frequent, so the best tool for you is one you’ll actually open most days. App quality varies widely, and price doesn’t predict it.5,1

How we built this comparison

Every competitor detail comes from that company’s own website, documentation, privacy policy or App Store listing, read on 30 October 2026, and the sources are linked above. Where a company doesn’t publish something, the table says so rather than guessing. We haven’t tested these apps hands-on, so this compares what companies say, not how well their products work. SpeechStep’s row is held to the same criteria and states only what SpeechStep does today.

Frequently asked questions

What’s the difference between an articulation app and an accent app?+

An articulation app works on how a speech sound is made, such as S or R, within the English you already speak. An accent app works on moving your pronunciation toward a target accent you choose. Accents aren’t a disorder; changing one is an elective goal.

Which of these apps listen to your speech?+

According to their own descriptions, Speech Therapy Magic, SpeechLP, Sara, ELSA Speak and BoldVoice analyse your recording with AI, and Speech Blubs describes itself as voice-controlled. Articulation Station Hive records responses for an adult to score, and Speechling’s feedback comes from human coaches. SpeechStep listens on the sounds its checks support.

Is this a ranking of which app works best?+

No. It compares what each company says about its own product, on the same criteria, as of 30 October 2026. It doesn’t measure accuracy or quality, and we haven’t tested these apps hands-on. Check each company’s own pages before you choose.

Which is best: an app or online speech therapy?+

They do different jobs. Only a speech-language pathologist can assess you, diagnose a speech sound disorder and plan treatment. An app adds practice. Many people use both: sessions with a clinician, and short daily practice in between.

Something on this page is out of date. How do I tell you?+

Email support@speechstep.com with the product and what has changed. Product details move quickly, and we’ll correct the page.

Practise your own speech, one sound at a time

Free with an account: your first practice day is a full session of 14 words, then 5 words a day, with AI feedback on the sounds it supports. SpeechStep is practice, not therapy, and it doesn’t diagnose.

Need a licensed professional? Where to find a speech-language pathologist

References

5 sources from authoritative bodies. Last reviewed October 2026.

  1. 1.Peer-reviewedFurlong, Morris, Serry & Erickson — Mobile Apps for Treatment of Speech Disorders in Children: An Evidence-Based Analysis of Quality and Efficacy — Systematic app review (PLoS ONE), 2018.
  2. 2.ASHAAccent Modification — Practice Portal page.
  3. 3.ASHASpeech Sound Disorders: Articulation and Phonology — Practice Portal page.
  4. 4.ASHATelepractice — Practice Portal page.
  5. 5.AJSLP (ASHA)Maas et al. — Principles of Motor Learning in Treatment of Motor Speech Disorders — Tutorial/review, 2008.

Keep reading